FOT-ISP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

FOT-ISP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 16 Content Areas

TL;DR
  • ETA International's 2026 FOT-ISP competency document lists 16 Major Knowledge Categories, from Basic Principles of Light through Troubleshooting and...
  • The knowledge exam has 75 questions in 2 hours, with a 75% passing score.
  • ETA publishes no percentage weights, so no single domain can be called the largest.
  • Category 16 is the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills; the ETA-approved hands-on component is still required separately.

How the 16 Content Areas Fit Together

The Fiber Optics Technician-Inside Plant (FOT-ISP) credential from ETA International is built around a published competency document. The 2026 edition of the Fiber Optics Technician - Inside Plant (FOT-ISP) Competency Requirements runs 11 pages and organizes everything a candidate must know into 16 Major Knowledge Categories. If you want a broader orientation before diving into the domains, start with What Is FOT-ISP Certification? and then return here.

The 16 areas follow a logical arc. They begin with physics (light and transmission), move into the physical medium (fiber construction and characteristics), cover safety, then work through the hardware a technician touches (cabling, splicing, connectors, sources, detectors, passive components, PON), and finish with real-world practice (installation, system considerations, testing, and troubleshooting). Understanding that arc makes memorization easier because later domains reuse concepts introduced early.

The competency document's introduction recommends prior fiber experience and knowledge of basic transmission principles. That recommendation matters for how you read the domain list: the first four categories are the foundation that the remaining twelve assume you already hold.

Exam Format and Fee Context

Before going domain by domain, it helps to know what the domains are tested through. The knowledge exam consists of 75 questions and has a 2-hour time limit. The passing score is 75% on the knowledge exam, and the required practical competency must also be satisfied. ETA does not disclose a scored/unscored split or an exact number-correct threshold, so treat any site quoting one with caution. For a deeper look at scoring, see FOT-ISP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

ItemFOT-ISP Detail
Governing bodyETA International
Knowledge exam length75 questions
Time limit2 hours
Passing score75% (knowledge exam), plus practical competency
Exam feeUS$155
Remote proctoring fee$16 for the two-hour session, where applicable
Hands-on componentRequired, through an ETA-approved school
Free retakeOne, within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions

Delivery options include Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil through ETA Certification Administrators, with ExamRoom.AI available for remote knowledge testing. The hands-on portion stays separate from remote delivery. Tuition for any training provider is a separate cost unless expressly bundled, so the $155 should not be mistaken for a total program price. The full breakdown lives in FOT-ISP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Domains 1-4: Light, Transmission, Fiber Construction and Characteristics

These four categories form the scientific base. Candidates who skip them to rush toward splicing and testing often find that later questions on loss, dispersion, and test results do not make sense.

Domain 1: BASIC PRINCIPLES OF LIGHT

This domain covers the physical behavior of light that makes fiber transmission possible.

  • The nature of light and where optical wavelengths sit relative to the rest of the spectrum
  • Reflection, refraction, and the role of refractive index
  • Why light stays confined in a fiber (the concept behind total internal reflection)

Domain 2: PRINCIPLES OF FIBER OPTIC TRANSMISSION

Here the focus shifts from light as physics to light as a carrier of information.

  • How a transmitter, fiber, and receiver form a complete link
  • Why wavelength choice matters for different fiber types and distances
  • The relationship between signal strength, loss, and usable link length

Domain 3: OPTICAL FIBER CONSTRUCTION AND THEORY

This domain addresses what a fiber physically is and why different designs behave differently.

  • Core, cladding, and coating structure
  • Single-mode versus multimode design and the practical consequences of each
  • How construction choices influence bandwidth and handling

Domain 4: OPTICAL FIBER CHARACTERISTICS

Where Domain 3 describes construction, Domain 4 describes performance.

  • Attenuation and its causes, including absorption, scattering, and bending
  • Dispersion and how it limits bandwidth
  • Numerical aperture and other specification-style concepts

These topics reward real understanding rather than rote recall. When you reach the testing domains later, the numbers you read on a power meter or OTDR will only be meaningful if you grasp why a fiber loses light in the first place.

Domains 5-8: Safety, Cabling, Splicing and Connectors

Domain 5: SAFETY

Safety appears early in the list for a reason, and it connects directly to the hands-on component.

  • Laser and light-source hazards and appropriate eye protection practices
  • Safe handling and disposal of bare fiber fragments, which are a genuine puncture and ingestion hazard
  • Chemical handling for cleaning and preparation materials
  • Workspace practices that keep a clean, controlled working area

Domain 6: FIBER OPTIC CABLING

The official heading is simply FIBER OPTIC CABLING, and it spans the cable designs a technician will meet.

  • Common cable constructions and where each is used
  • Strength members, jackets, and buffering approaches
  • Indoor-oriented cable considerations, which matter for an inside plant credential

Domain 7: TYPES OF SPLICING

Splicing joins fibers permanently or semi-permanently and is a core skill tied to the hands-on side.

  • Fusion splicing versus mechanical splicing, including trade-offs in loss, cost, and use case
  • Preparation steps: stripping, cleaning, and cleaving
  • Splice protection and organization within enclosures and trays

Domain 8: CONNECTORS

Connectors are the demountable joints in a system and a frequent source of real-world problems.

  • Common connector styles and how to recognize them
  • Polish types and why end-face geometry matters
  • Inspection and cleaning, which is among the most common practical fixes for high loss
Why splicing and connectors deserve extra attention: These are the areas where knowledge-exam content and the approved-school hands-on training overlap most visibly. Reading about a cleave is different from performing one, so use your hands-on course time to attach physical experience to the vocabulary you study at your desk.

Domains 9-12: Sources, Detectors, Passive Components and PON

Domain 9: SOURCES

Sources generate the light that carries data through the link.

  • LEDs versus laser diodes and the situations that call for each
  • Wavelength, output power, and spectral characteristics
  • How source type interacts with fiber type

Domain 10: DETECTORS AND RECEIVERS

On the other end of the link, detectors convert light back into electrical signals.

  • Photodiode types and their general characteristics
  • Receiver sensitivity and dynamic range
  • How received power relates to link margin

Domain 11: PASSIVE COMPONENTS AND MULTIPLEXERS

Passive components shape and route light without needing power themselves.

  • Couplers and splitters and the loss they introduce
  • Attenuators and their purpose in protecting receivers
  • Wavelength-division multiplexing concepts and the role of multiplexers

Domain 12: PASSIVE OPTICAL NETWORKS (PON)

PON architectures use splitters to share one fiber among multiple endpoints.

  • The general point-to-multipoint structure of a PON
  • The role of splitters and how split ratios affect the optical budget
  • Where a technician's work intersects with PON hardware in inside plant settings

Domains 9 through 12 form a natural cluster. If you understand the optical budget (source power minus losses equals received power), you can reason through most questions in this block rather than memorizing isolated facts.

Domains 13-16: Installation, System Considerations, Testing and Troubleshooting

Domain 13: CABLE INSTALLATION AND HARDWARE

This domain addresses how cable is physically placed and terminated in a building environment.

  • Pulling, routing, and bend-radius practices that protect fiber from damage
  • Enclosures, patch panels, and termination hardware
  • Organization, labeling, and slack management

Domain 14: FIBER OPTIC SYSTEM CONSIDERATIONS

Here the lens widens from components to complete systems.

  • Link budget thinking: balancing source power, loss, and receiver requirements
  • Matching components to application needs
  • Documentation and planning considerations for a working system

Domain 15: TEST EQUIPMENT AND LINK/CABLE TESTING

Testing verifies that an installed link meets its requirements.

  • Optical power meters and light sources for loss measurement
  • OTDR concepts and how to interpret traces at a conceptual level
  • Visual fault locators and their use for finding breaks and tight bends
  • Why test method and reference setup affect the validity of results

Domain 16: TROUBLESHOOTING AND RESTORATION - (knowledge part of Hands-On Skills)

The official label preserves an important qualifier: this category is the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills.

  • A systematic approach to isolating faults in a link
  • Common causes of excess loss: dirty connectors, poor splices, macrobends, and breaks
  • Restoration approaches and verifying that a repair has actually fixed the problem

Weights: What the Issuer Does and Does Not Say

A common question is which domain carries the most weight. For FOT-ISP, the honest answer is that ETA's competency document lists categories as competency objectives and does not publish percentage weights. That means no domain can be declared the largest, and any site that assigns precise percentages to these 16 areas is guessing rather than reporting.

Plan for breadth, not a guessed hierarchy: Because weights are unpublished, the safe strategy is competence across all 16 categories. With only 75 questions drawn from 16 areas, you will see relatively few items per domain, and a weak spot in any one of them can cost you. If you want to gauge how demanding this makes the exam, read How Hard Is the FOT-ISP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

The same caution applies to pass-rate claims. Seller success figures are not verified issuer statistics, and ETA does not publish a pass rate in the material reviewed. The discussion in FOT-ISP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows covers how to interpret such claims.

Sequencing the 16 Areas Across Your Prep

Since this is the one place for planning structure, here is a domain-ordered schedule that follows the dependency chain described earlier. Adjust the pacing to your training course dates. For a fuller methodology, see the FOT-ISP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Week 1

Physics Foundation (Domains 1-4)

  • Work through light behavior, transmission principles, construction, and characteristics
  • Make sure you can explain attenuation and dispersion in your own words
Week 2

Safety and Physical Termination (Domains 5-8)

  • Review safety rules before your hands-on course
  • Pair splicing and connector study with the practical sessions at your approved school
Week 3

Active and Passive Hardware (Domains 9-12)

  • Practice optical budget calculations across sources, splitters, and receivers
  • Study PON structure and splitter loss
Week 4

Installation, Testing and Troubleshooting (Domains 13-16)

  • Review installation practices and system-level thinking
  • Drill test equipment use and fault-isolation logic
  • Take timed practice sets matching the 75-question, 2-hour format

Practice questions are most valuable once you have covered the full list. Our FOT-ISP practice tests let you rehearse the timing and pick out which of the 16 categories need another pass.

Category 16 deserves its own discussion because its label is easy to misread. It is explicitly the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills. That does not mean answering troubleshooting questions online replaces the practical. The certification requires an ETA-approved hands-on course in addition to the knowledge exam, and the required practical competency must be satisfied alongside the 75% knowledge score.

The public issuer material reviewed does not specify a precise practical timer or a mandatory universal number of course hours. Light Brigade's four-day course is one provider's schedule rather than an official exam time limit, and it should not be treated as a universal requirement. Check with your chosen approved school for exact scheduling. More on this is in FOT-ISP Training and FOT-ISP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Key Takeaway

Treat Domains 5, 7, 8, 13, 15, and 16 as the topics where your classroom reading and your hands-on training should reinforce each other. Notes taken during practical sessions often become your best memory aids for exam questions on the same procedures.

One more clarification on prerequisites: no mandatory FOI credential was verified for this exact certification, so do not assume the FOI requirement some other fiber credentials carry applies here. Stand-alone certification is available. The optional Journeyman upgrade carries separate conditions, including the Associate CET, two years of combined training and experience, and a $55 upgrade fee.

Where These Skills Get Used

An inside plant fiber credential points toward work inside buildings and facilities: data centers, campus and enterprise networks, telecom central offices, and the structured cabling that serves them. Employers in these settings include network and cabling contractors, telecom and data center operators, and facilities and IT teams that maintain their own infrastructure.

The domain list maps closely onto day-to-day tasks. Termination, splicing, testing, and troubleshooting (Domains 7, 8, 15, and 16) are the hands-on duties that show up in job descriptions, while safety and installation (Domains 5 and 13) reflect the practices employers expect on any site. For openings and role titles, see FOT-ISP Jobs. Earnings depend heavily on region, employer, and experience, so the analysis in FOT-ISP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and the broader ROI analysis are better starting points than any single figure.

Certification is also maintained over time. The term is four years, and under ETA Maintenance with Hands-On the requirements are 6 relevant continuing-education hours per year, or 24 across the four-year cycle, with employer verification and the maintenance form. The fee is $25 per year or $100 per four-year cycle. The general non-hands-on 10-hour route does not apply to this certification.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many content areas does the FOT-ISP exam cover?

ETA's 2026 competency document lists 16 Major Knowledge Categories, running from Basic Principles of Light through Troubleshooting and Restoration. The domain list in this article reproduces all 16 by their official names.

Does ETA publish percentage weights for the 16 domains?

No official percentage weights were found. The categories are competency objectives, so no domain can be labeled the largest. Prepare across all 16 rather than relying on a guessed weighting.

How many questions and how much time does the knowledge exam have?

ETA lists 75 questions with a 2-hour time limit for the knowledge exam. A 75% passing score is required, and the hands-on competency requirement must also be met. Some sellers cite 100 questions, but that figure conflicts with ETA's published specification.

Can I skip the hands-on training if I know Domain 16 well?

No. Category 16 is the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills, but an ETA-approved hands-on course is still required. Knowing the troubleshooting material supports your practical work; it does not substitute for it.

What does the exam cost and is a retake available?

The examination fee is US$155, with an additional $16 two-hour remote-proctoring fee where applicable. Training tuition is separate unless bundled. ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. See the exam dates and scheduling guide for timing details.

Ready to pass your FOT-ISP exam?

Put this into practice with free FOT-ISP questions across every exam domain.