- The 75% Line and What It Actually Applies To
- Why Passing Is a Two-Part Event
- What ETA Does Not Publish (and Why You Shouldn't Trust Anyone Who Claims To)
- Exam Snapshot: Format, Time, Fees
- Where the Points Come From: The 16 Knowledge Categories
- Topics That Quietly Cost Candidates Points
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Hands-On Course
- Test-Day Rules That Protect Your Score
- If You Miss 75%: Retake and What Happens After a Pass
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The FOT-ISP knowledge exam requires 75%; the required hands-on competency must also be satisfied separately.
- The exam has 75 questions and a 2-hour time limit, according to ETA International.
- ETA does not publish a scored/unscored split or rounding rules, so any exact "number correct" figure is a guess.
- The exam fee is US$155, and one free retake is available within one year of your first session.
The 75% Line and What It Actually Applies To
The passing score for the Fiber Optics Technician-Inside Plant (FOT-ISP) knowledge exam is 75%. That figure comes from ETA International, the certifying body, and it applies to the written/knowledge portion of the certification. If you are building a study plan, 75% is the number to design around.
With 75 questions on the exam, it is tempting to convert 75% into a fixed count of correct answers. Be careful here. ETA's published materials do not state a scored/unscored split, and they do not describe rounding rules. That means the exact number of questions you must answer correctly is not something the issuer has committed to in writing. Treat any site that gives you a precise "you need X out of 75" figure as offering an estimate, not an official threshold. If you want the broader context on what the exam asks of you, our guide on how hard the FOT-ISP exam really is goes deeper on difficulty.
Why Passing Is a Two-Part Event
Many candidates focus entirely on the 75% knowledge score and overlook the fact that FOT-ISP is not a knowledge-only credential. The certification requires a hands-on component delivered through an ETA-approved school. A strong score on the knowledge exam does not substitute for the practical competency, and the practical cannot be replaced by an online quiz.
This is where the structure of the competency document matters. Category 16, Troubleshooting and Restoration, is explicitly labelled as the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills. In other words, the written exam tests whether you understand troubleshooting and restoration conceptually, while the approved school's hands-on training and skills assessment confirms you can actually do the work. Both must be satisfied.
Remote knowledge testing is available through ETA via ExamRoom.AI, but the remote option applies to the knowledge exam only. The required approved-school hands-on component remains a separate requirement. For a full breakdown of eligibility, see our FOT-ISP requirements guide.
What ETA Does Not Publish (and Why You Shouldn't Trust Anyone Who Claims To)
A good portion of the "passing score" content online fills gaps with confident-sounding specifics. Here is what the issuer material reviewed does not disclose:
- Scored versus unscored items: not stated, so you cannot know how many of the 75 questions count toward your result.
- Rounding rules: not stated, so borderline results cannot be predicted from a simple formula.
- Official domain percentage weights: not published. ETA lists 16 Major Knowledge Categories as competency objectives, but it does not assign weights to them.
- Knowledge-item format: the exact question format is not specified in the public issuer material.
- Verified pass rates: seller success claims, including very high percentages, are not issuer-verified figures. For what can and cannot be said about outcomes, read our FOT-ISP pass rate analysis.
One more discrepancy worth flagging: a commercial competitor's narrative describes the exam as having 100 questions. ETA's own figure is 75 questions, and that is the number to rely on.
Exam Snapshot: Format, Time, Fees
| Item | What ETA Publishes |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | ETA International |
| Knowledge exam length | 75 questions |
| Time allowed | 2 hours (written/knowledge exam) |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam, plus satisfying the required practical competency |
| Examination fee | US$155 (no member/non-member split published in the current information box) |
| Remote proctoring fee | $16 for the two-hour remote-proctoring session, where applicable |
| Delivery options | Proctored testing via ETA Certification Administrators (Trapeza online or paper/pencil); ExamRoom.AI available for remote knowledge testing |
| Hands-on requirement | ETA-approved school; separate from the knowledge exam |
| Retake policy | One free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions |
Two cost clarifications prevent unpleasant surprises. First, the $155 exam fee does not automatically include a training course; tuition from a training provider is separate unless the provider expressly bundles it. Second, a provider's four-day course schedule is a provider schedule, not the official exam time limit. The issuer sources reviewed do not publish a practical timer or a mandatory universal number of course hours. For a complete cost picture, see the FOT-ISP certification cost breakdown.
Where the Points Come From: The 16 Knowledge Categories
Because ETA publishes no weights, the honest approach is to prepare for all 16 Major Knowledge Categories rather than betting on a "heavy" domain. Here are the official categories, grouped by how they tend to connect in practice. You can find a deeper walkthrough in our complete guide to all 16 content areas.
Foundations: Domains 1-4
These establish the physics and fiber fundamentals that everything else builds on.
- Basic Principles of Light
- Principles of Fiber Optic Transmission
- Optical Fiber Construction and Theory
- Optical Fiber Characteristics
Safety and Physical Plant: Domains 5-8
Handling, cabling, and termination skills that link directly to the hands-on component.
- Safety
- Fiber Optic Cabling
- Types of Splicing
- Connectors
Active and Passive Devices: Domains 9-12
The components that generate, receive, route, and distribute light.
- Sources
- Detectors and Receivers
- Passive Components and Multiplexers
- Passive Optical Networks (PON)
Installation, Systems, and Testing: Domains 13-16
The applied, job-facing categories where inside-plant knowledge comes together.
- Cable Installation and Hardware
- Fiber Optic System Considerations
- Test Equipment and Link/Cable Testing
- Troubleshooting and Restoration (knowledge part of Hands-On Skills)
Note that the competency document is the 2026 version of the Fiber Optics Technician - Inside Plant (FOT-ISP) Competency Requirements, copyright 2026 and 11 pages long. Make sure your study materials align with this inside-plant document and not with ETA's adjacent FOT or outside-plant syllabi, which are different credentials with different competency lists.
Topics That Quietly Cost Candidates Points
Since the 75% threshold applies across the whole exam, a candidate who is strong in splicing and connectors but vague on optical theory can still fall short. These are the areas where inside-plant candidates most often need to shore up understanding, based on how the categories interrelate.
Loss, attenuation, and why measurements disagree
Categories 4 (Optical Fiber Characteristics) and 15 (Test Equipment and Link/Cable Testing) overlap heavily. Be ready to reason about why a measured loss differs from an expected loss: connector quality, splice quality, fiber type, wavelength, and test method all play a part. Memorizing definitions is not enough; you need to explain cause and effect.
PON architecture and passive splitting
Category 12 (Passive Optical Networks) pairs naturally with category 11 (Passive Components and Multiplexers). Understand how passive splitting distributes optical power and how multiplexing allows multiple signals to share a fiber. Candidates who treat these as two unrelated topics tend to struggle when a question blends them.
Sources versus detectors
Categories 9 and 10 are mirror images. Know what each device does, how each is characterized, and how they must be matched to the fiber and system around them. System-level questions in category 14 (Fiber Optic System Considerations) often assume you can connect these dots.
Safety as a scoring category, not a formality
Category 5 is easy to skim because it feels like common sense. Do not. Safety around laser light, fiber fragments, and chemicals is a defined knowledge category and it is also the foundation of safe hands-on work at the approved school.
Key Takeaway
Because ETA publishes 16 categories and no weights, there is no defensible "skip this domain" strategy. Spread your preparation across all 16, and spend extra time on the cross-category links such as loss and testing, PON and passive components, and sources and detectors.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Hands-On Course
Your hands-on training at an ETA-approved school and your knowledge exam prep should reinforce each other. A sensible sequence puts conceptual categories before the practical week and applied categories right after it, while the hands-on experience is fresh.
Light and Fiber Theory
- Cover Domains 1-4: light, transmission, fiber construction, fiber characteristics
- Build a one-page glossary of loss mechanisms
Before the Approved-School Course
- Review Safety, Fiber Optic Cabling, Splicing types, and Connectors (Domains 5-8)
- Note questions to ask your instructor
Right After Hands-On Training
- Revisit Cable Installation and Hardware, Test Equipment, and Troubleshooting and Restoration (Domains 13, 15, 16) while practical memory is strong
Devices, Systems, and Full Practice
- Cover Sources, Detectors, Passive Components, PON, and System Considerations (Domains 9-12, 14)
- Take timed 75-question practice sets against a 2-hour clock
For a fuller approach to preparing, our FOT-ISP study guide covers resources and pacing, and the FOT-ISP cheat sheet is a handy final-week review. You can also drill realistic questions on our FOT-ISP practice test site.
Test-Day Rules That Protect Your Score
A score you cannot earn because of a preventable logistics problem is the most frustrating way to miss 75%. ETA's general onsite testing rules include:
- Photo ID is required.
- Personal electronics are prohibited.
- Scratch paper is allowed and must be surrendered at the end.
- Non-programmable/scientific calculators are allowed.
If you are testing remotely through ExamRoom.AI, confirm the exact remote permissions for your arranged delivery before exam day, since onsite rules may not map one-to-one. Accommodation requests require individual arrangement with ETA, so start that conversation early rather than in the final days. No open-book or adaptive status was verified for this exact exam, so prepare as though you will have to answer from memory.
If You Miss 75%: Retake and What Happens After a Pass
If your first attempt falls short, ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. No promise is made about repeat training or remote-proctoring fees, so check what applies to your situation. Use the first attempt's experience diagnostically: note which categories felt unfamiliar and rebuild your plan around them.
Once you pass both components, the certification carries a four-year term. Under ETA's Maintenance with Hands-On route, you need 6 relevant continuing-education hours per year (24 across the four years), with employer verification and the maintenance form. The fee is $25 per year or $100 per four-year cycle. Do not apply the general non-hands-on 10-hour route to this certification. If you want to know what comes next in your career, our guides on FOT-ISP jobs and whether the certification is worth it cover the payoff side.
Frequently Asked Questions
The knowledge exam requires 75%, according to ETA International. The required hands-on practical competency, delivered through an ETA-approved school, must also be satisfied separately.
ETA publishes 75 questions but does not disclose the scored/unscored split or rounding rules, so an exact number-correct threshold is not officially stated. Aim well above 75% in practice rather than targeting a specific count.
The written/knowledge exam allows 2 hours. Any course duration advertised by a training provider is a provider schedule, not the official exam time limit.
ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first session under its stated conditions. It makes no promise about repeat training or remote-proctoring fees, so confirm details before rescheduling.
ETA does not publish percentage weights for the 16 Major Knowledge Categories, so no domain can be called the largest or most heavily tested. Prepare across all categories, using the domains guide as a roadmap.