- What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
- Exam Facts at a Glance
- The 16 Major Knowledge Categories, Grouped for Fast Review
- Core Physics and Fiber Theory Facts
- Cabling, Splicing, Connectors and Components
- PON, Installation and System Considerations
- Testing, Troubleshooting and the Hands-On Link
- Registration, Fees and Test-Day Rules
- Renewal and Maintenance Cheat Card
- A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
- FAQ
- FOT-ISP is ETA International's Fiber Optics Technician-Inside Plant certification, with a 75-question, 2-hour knowledge exam and a 75% passing score.
- The knowledge exam alone is not enough: an ETA-approved hands-on course and practical competency are also required.
- The exam fee is US$155; remote proctoring adds a $16 two-hour fee where applicable, and training tuition is separate.
- ETA's 2026 competency document lists 16 Major Knowledge Categories but publishes no percentage weights, so study every one.
What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
This page is a one-page-style review of the must-know facts for the Fiber Optics Technician-Inside Plant (FOT-ISP) certification governed by ETA International. It is built from ETA's published FOT-ISP competency requirements (copyright 2026, 11 pages, 16 Major Knowledge Categories) and ETA's public exam and maintenance information. If you are new to the credential, start with What Is FOT-ISP Certification? and then return here for the condensed review.
One caution up front: several unrelated credentials in the wider job market share similar-looking acronyms. Everything below applies only to the ETA Inside Plant fiber technician certification. It is also separate from ETA's general FOT credential and from outside-plant fiber content, so do not mix those syllabi into your notes.
Exam Facts at a Glance
The table below captures the numbers worth memorizing. Where ETA does not publish a detail, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Item | What ETA Publishes |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | ETA International (abbreviation: FOT-ISP) |
| Knowledge exam length | 75 questions |
| Time limit | 2 hours for the written/knowledge exam |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam, plus satisfying the required practical competency |
| Exam fee | US$155 (no member/non-member split published in the FOT-ISP information box) |
| Remote proctoring fee | $16 for two hours, where applicable |
| Hands-on component | Required through an ETA-approved school; separate from remote knowledge delivery |
| Delivery options | Trapeza online testing, paper/pencil, or ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring for the knowledge portion |
| Retake policy | One free retake within one year of the first session, under ETA's stated conditions |
| Certification term | Four years |
| Competency document | 2026 edition, 11 pages, 16 Major Knowledge Categories |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Category weights | Not published |
ETA does not disclose an exact number-correct threshold, so avoid memorizing a fixed count of right answers. The safe rule is simply: aim comfortably above 75% on every practice set. For more on how scoring works, see FOT-ISP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
The 16 Major Knowledge Categories, Grouped for Fast Review
ETA's competency document lists 16 Major Knowledge Categories. They are competency objectives, not weighted percentages, so no single category can be called "the biggest." Group them like this to keep your review organized:
Group A: Fundamentals (Categories 1-4)
- Basic Principles of Light
- Principles of Fiber Optic Transmission
- Optical Fiber Construction and Theory
- Optical Fiber Characteristics
Group B: Safety and Physical Plant (Categories 5-8)
- Safety
- Fiber Optic Cabling
- Types of Splicing
- Connectors
Group C: Active and Passive Components (Categories 9-12)
- Sources
- Detectors and Receivers
- Passive Components and Multiplexers
- Passive Optical Networks (PON)
Group D: Installation, Systems and Testing (Categories 13-16)
- Cable Installation and Hardware
- Fiber Optic System Considerations
- Test Equipment and Link/Cable Testing
- Troubleshooting and Restoration (the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills)
Because ETA gives no weights, the sensible strategy is breadth first, depth second. A candidate who knows 14 categories cold and ignores two is taking an unnecessary risk on a 75-question exam.
Core Physics and Fiber Theory Facts
Categories 1 through 4 form the vocabulary for everything else. Inside-plant questions often assume you can reason about why a fiber behaves a certain way, not just recite a definition.
Basic Principles of Light and Transmission
- Know the electromagnetic spectrum position of fiber optic wavelengths (infrared) and how wavelength is expressed in nanometers.
- Understand reflection, refraction, and total internal reflection, and how refractive index relates to light speed in a medium.
- Be able to explain how light is guided in a fiber by the core/cladding index relationship.
- Review the building blocks of a transmission link: source, fiber path, and detector, plus how signals are modulated.
Fiber Construction and Characteristics
- Distinguish singlemode from multimode fiber by core size, light-guiding behavior, and typical applications.
- Know the layers of an optical fiber: core, cladding, and coating/buffer.
- Understand attenuation (loss) and what causes it, including absorption, scattering, and bending effects.
- Understand dispersion and bandwidth conceptually: why pulses spread and how that limits link performance.
- Be comfortable with numerical aperture and acceptance angle as concepts tied to launching light into a fiber.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat categories 1-4 as "easy warm-up" material. Loss, dispersion and fiber type questions resurface in testing, PON and system-considerations topics, so a weak foundation costs points in several places.
Cabling, Splicing, Connectors and Components
This cluster covers the physical skills an inside-plant technician uses daily, and it is where the knowledge exam connects most directly to the required hands-on course.
Safety (Category 5)
Safety is its own category, so expect dedicated questions.
- Laser and eye-safety principles: never look into a fiber end or connector, and treat invisible infrared light as dangerous.
- Safe handling and disposal of fiber shards (glass fragments are a real hazard to eyes and skin).
- Chemical safety for cleaning and adhesive materials, and proper use of personal protective equipment.
Fiber Optic Cabling (Category 6)
Know common cable constructions and where each belongs.
- Tight-buffered versus loose-tube designs and why inside-plant environments favor certain constructions.
- Strength members, jackets, and the purpose of each cable component.
- Fire-rating and jacket considerations relevant to indoor routing.
Splicing and Connectors (Categories 7 and 8)
- Fusion versus mechanical splicing: how each works, typical loss behavior, and when each is used.
- Connector types, ferrule styles, polish types, and how end-face condition affects loss and reflectance.
- Cleaning and inspection discipline: contamination is a leading cause of poor link performance, so expect questions on inspection and cleaning practice.
Sources, Detectors and Passive Components (Categories 9-11)
- LEDs versus laser sources (including VCSELs) and their relationship to fiber type and distance.
- Photodiode detectors and receiver basics, including sensitivity and dynamic range concepts.
- Couplers, splitters, attenuators, isolators, and wavelength-division multiplexers: what each does to light in a link.
PON, Installation and System Considerations
Passive Optical Networks have their own category, which signals how relevant PON architecture is to modern inside-plant work. Review the logic of a passive network: a single feeder fiber shared through splitters, with no powered components in the distribution path.
- Understand splitter-based architecture and why split ratios affect optical power budgets.
- Know the roles of the central-office side and the customer-premises side of a PON.
- Review wavelength separation for upstream and downstream traffic at a conceptual level.
For installation and hardware (Category 13), concentrate on pulling tension limits and bend radius considerations, cable management in racks and closets, enclosures, patch panels, and fiber management trays. For system considerations (Category 14), practice building a loss budget: total allowable loss versus the sum of fiber attenuation, connector loss, and splice loss, plus a margin.
Testing, Troubleshooting and the Hands-On Link
Categories 15 and 16 are where the knowledge exam and the practical meet.
Test Equipment and Link/Cable Testing (Category 15)
- Optical power meter and light source testing: how to reference the setup and measure end-to-end loss.
- OTDR concepts: reading a trace, identifying events such as splices, connectors, and breaks, and understanding dead zones.
- Visual fault locators for finding breaks and tight bends, and inspection scopes for connector end-faces.
- Documentation of test results and pass/fail comparison against a loss budget.
Troubleshooting and Restoration (Category 16)
ETA labels this category the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills. That wording matters: the written questions test whether you understand the process, but they do not replace the actual practical competency completed through an ETA-approved school.
- Systematic fault isolation: define the symptom, verify with test equipment, locate the problem, repair, and retest.
- Common failure causes: dirty connectors, excessive bends, bad splices, and damaged cable.
- Restoration approaches and verifying the link after repair.
Key Takeaway
An online quiz cannot stand in for the practical. Plan your hands-on course early, since it is a requirement for the certification and not something that can be skipped by passing the knowledge test.
Registration, Fees and Test-Day Rules
Here are the mechanics to have straight before you book. Full cost context lives in FOT-ISP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and eligibility details are in FOT-ISP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
- Exam fee: US$155. A four-day provider course is not automatically included in that fee, and training tuition is billed separately unless a provider expressly bundles it.
- Remote proctoring: ETA lists a $16 fee for a two-hour session where applicable. ExamRoom.AI is available through ETA for remote knowledge testing only.
- Testing providers: ETA Certification Administrators, using Trapeza online testing or paper/pencil.
- Prerequisites: an ETA-approved hands-on course is required. Prior fiber experience and knowledge of basic transmission principles are recommended in the competency introduction. Do not assume an FOI credential is mandatory; none was verified for this certification.
- Standalone path: the certification stands on its own. An optional Journeyman upgrade exists, with the separate Associate CET, two-year combined training/experience, and $55 upgrade conditions.
- Onsite rules: photo ID required, personal electronics prohibited, scratch paper and non-programmable/scientific calculators allowed, and scratch paper must be surrendered.
- Retake: one free retake within one year of the first session under ETA's stated conditions. No promise covers repeat training or remote fees.
- Accommodations: requests are arranged individually through ETA's special accommodations process.
For scheduling windows and deadlines, see FOT-ISP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Renewal and Maintenance Cheat Card
| Maintenance Item | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Certification term | Four years |
| Route that applies | ETA Maintenance with Hands-On |
| Continuing education | 6 relevant hours per year; 24 across the four-year cycle |
| Verification | Employer verification plus the maintenance form |
| Fee | $25 per year, or $100 per four-year cycle |
| Submission timing | Annual submission recommended; requirements are met across the cycle |
| Workplace training | Documented training is subject to evaluation |
A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
This is the single study-method section in this article, and it is tied to the sequence of categories rather than generic habits. Because ETA publishes no weights, allocate time roughly evenly and revisit the weaker categories. Our full FOT-ISP study guide expands on this approach.
Foundations
- Categories 1-4: light, transmission, fiber construction and characteristics
- Build a one-page glossary of loss, dispersion and index terms
Safety and physical plant
- Categories 5-8: safety, cabling, splicing, connectors
- Pair reading with your hands-on course practice
Components and PON
- Categories 9-12: sources, detectors, passive components, PON
- Drill splitter and loss-budget scenarios
Install, test, troubleshoot
- Categories 13-16: installation, system considerations, testing, restoration
- Take full-length timed practice under 2-hour conditions at the 75-question length
Use the FOT-ISP practice tests to find weak categories early, and rework missed questions by category rather than by date. If you want a realistic read on difficulty before committing to a schedule, see How Hard Is the FOT-ISP Exam? For pass-rate context, note that seller success claims are not verified issuer pass rates; the FOT-ISP pass rate breakdown explains what can and cannot be said.
Where the Credential Fits in Your Career
The certification targets technicians who install, terminate, test and maintain fiber inside buildings: data centers, equipment rooms, campus and enterprise backbones, and telecom facilities. Employers in structured cabling, network infrastructure and telecommunications contracting commonly look for credentialed fiber technicians. For role details, review FOT-ISP jobs, and for earnings context and value, see the FOT-ISP salary guide and Is the FOT-ISP Certification Worth It?. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, the main practice test site is the fastest next step.
FAQ
ETA lists 75 questions with a 2-hour time limit. Some commercial sellers quote different counts, but the issuer figure is the one to plan around. ETA does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored.
The knowledge exam passing score is 75%. You must also satisfy the required hands-on practical competency through an ETA-approved school. ETA does not publish an exact number-correct threshold, so aim well above 75% in practice.
No. Remote proctoring through ExamRoom.AI is available for the knowledge portion, but the hands-on course and skills assessment through an ETA-approved school remain required and separate. Category 16 is the knowledge part of Hands-On Skills, not a replacement for the practical.
The examination fee is US$155. A $16 fee applies for ETA's two-hour remote-proctoring session where applicable. Training tuition from an approved provider is separate unless the provider expressly bundles it.
It lasts four years. Under ETA Maintenance with Hands-On you need 6 relevant continuing-education hours per year (24 over the cycle), employer verification, and the maintenance form, at $25 per year or $100 per four-year cycle.